Interview: Tipsy Tasty Treats Turns Boozey Creations Into Dollar Signs

Aaliyah Robinson talks defeating her self-doubt to commit to her business full time.

Does the recipe for your perfect cupcake include a shot or two of Jack Daniels? Maybe Patron or even Ciroc?

Mixing a love for a good drink with her favorite meal, Aaliyah Roberson entered her kitchen with a thought to simply shake up her usual baking routine.

“I guess I got bored making the same thing over and over. The first thing I mixed was my peach cobbler – it’s kind’ve like a cake, not a crumbly one – and I mixed it with Grand Marnier,” she said.

Her first successful fusion led her to continue a trial-and-error process, experimenting with whatever was in her liquor cabinet to spike up a cupcake or brownie.

With an arsenal of boozey recipes, Aaliyah did not yet consider turning her passion into a business. Despite her hustler mentality – cooking for the football team while away at college so that she could avoid working for someone else – Aaliyah kept her tipsy treats reserved to friends and family.

“Back then, I saw this as something I could do as a business but I didn’t really seriously go after it,” she said. “I still had those nerves thinking of how would I do this.”

Following a successful dessert table for a friend’s wedding in 2009, Aaliyah launched Tipsy Tasty Treats but still approached her business with a half-empty glass mentality.

“When I decided to do it, I approached it as a side thing. I didn’t say I’m actually going to start a business. I didn’t have the name yet, it was just people who knew me or knew my family,” she explained.

While working at Chase Bank, Aaliyah found herself surrounded by likeminded women. All of whom wanted or were in the process of starting their own businesses. This support system provided the push she needed to take Tipsy Tasty Treats from hobby to full-scale business.

“We were all nudging each other and that’s where the real change happened,” she said. “I brought my creations to work and people started to really make big orders. The whole cupcake business just boomed out of nowhere.”

About Alley Olivier (84 Articles)
Alley Olivier is a Brooklyn woman wearing many literal and figurative hats – snapback, bucket, and fedora if she feels like it. The short-haired founder and CEO of ButtahMedia, Alley operates as the Managing Editor for BrooklynButtah.com; churning out insightful interviews, balancing her opinions on all things pop culture, and ensuring entrepreneurs find useful information that is without the scientific jargon. When she isn’t consumed by everything Buttah, find her pen flexing on Ebony.com, xoNecole.com, and Caribbean Life Newspaper. Follow her everywhere @All3Y_B.

Leave a Reply

