Confessions of a Curvy Girl: I hate my body.

Robin J. kicks off her Curvy Girl column with some raw truths.

When the ball dropped on January 1st many of us toasted to a “new year, new me” and made our New Years Resolutions, highlighting our desires for the upcoming year. At the top of my list: “Love Your Body.”

If you happen to scroll through my Instagram feed I doubt you’d guess that amidst my endless selfies and confidence boosting quotes, I struggle with self acceptance. My biggest struggle, loving the curves the good lord blessed (or cursed) me with.

My battle with body image started as a pre-teen when I was the first in my 5th grade class with breasts. Without the need of the classic Judy Blume “I must increase my bust” prayer – my breasts grew faster than those of the other girls and didn’t stop. Along with premature breasts on my short frame, add some baby making hips, a stomach that won’t stay flat and Jamaican Sunday dinners (filled with rice, red meat and grease), and that equals a recipe for a lifetime battle with obesity.

If you ask me, I’ve always had too much of everything. Cheeks too big. Hips too wide. Thighs too thick. Booty too big- (ok maybe not the booty. That can stay.). In any case living a life of “too” and dealing with my weight fluctuation made me hate the girl in the mirror, and over a decade later I still have the same struggles.

About RobinJ (4 Articles)
The fearless leader of TheTakeovah.com, Robin J. got her start in radio in 2010, creating a platform for under represented musicians and other artists to share their talent. Taking it to the web, she's set out to change the way the world looks at Indie/ re-emerging artists and bring back the appreciation for the new music. When she's not combing through TakeOvah music submissions, she's fake harmonizing at R&B shows, hosting local events and flirting with Starbucks baristas for free espresso shots. Follow her on Twitter/Instagram @itsrobinj

Leave a Reply

