What is Social Media Doing to Your Relationships?

Our social lives are becoming confined to our mobile devices.

It is no surprise that  social media outlets (Snapchat, Facebook, Instagram, Twitter) are highly addictive.  They have the power and influence to feed our insecurities, can be toxic to our brand, but has anyone else noticed how they have been effecting our relationships?

Social media has altered our idea of what a healthy relationship is for the worst. While doing my every 15-minute Snapchat scroll, I realized that my potential boo had yet again viewed all of my story but failed to actually come see me in a week. The man who claims he is into me sent me snap videos all day, but rarely invested time in really getting to know me. The issue is, I had  become so accustomed to communicating with him through Snapchat I didn’t notice he was actually full of it.

Unlike Facebook, Twitter or  Instagram, Snapchat doesn’t differentiate its users by profile or page. When you’re on Snapchat, you’re scrolling to view someone’s “story” – someone’s 10 second video update of their lives. It’s a far more intimate setup, creating the misconception that we know our followers on some elite level.

I didn’t realize that it had been awhile since I chilled with my potential boo because it felt like I was with him. But I wasn’t with him, I was with my phone. In fact, I am “with my phone” in a lot of my relationships.  I don’t physically see most of my cousin, friend, or classmate followers that are on any of my social network accounts. But somehow I am updated on their lives and don’t feel the need to link up for drinks and catch up with them.

It’s great that there are progressive ways to communicate with people, but there is a huge issue on the rise. We are becoming okay with not actually being there. Consequently, we judge people by hand selected filtered images,  rather than our  own  personal experiences with them. Our social lives are slowly and surely becoming entirely cyber.

I am terrified of what will become of our relationships when it’s all said and done.

About Sydney Williams (17 Articles)
Sydney Williams is a Brooklyn Buttah intern, who explores quotas with a lyrical and analytical perspective. The singer, songwriter and Long Island native is a certified music junkie bubbling with a witty and realistic outlook on the industry and ways in which music can be incorporated into a healthy lifestyle. An artist is an entrepreneur. Sydney crafts her artistry, as she completes her final semester as a communications major at SUNY Old Westbury.

1 Comment on What is Social Media Doing to Your Relationships?

  1. Love this post ! check out my latest blog post on what not to post on social media 🙂 let me know what you think! https://sofiyazhura.wordpress.com/2016/03/21/think-before-you-click/

    Like

Leave a Reply

