She’s The Boss: Melanie White Keeps The Accessories Game On Lock

Melanie White has a thing for accessories. A nice shoe. A dope bag. A splash of neckwear and bracelets, pieces that take an outfit from simple to chic with little effort.

A personality as wide as an ocean, Melanie realized that her initial career path as a nurse didn’t fit her. So, she turned in her scrubs to create bags and much more with her accessories business Melanie Marie.

“My grandma swears I’m wasting my life. I was probably doing it for a year out of school and I realized that I was not cut out to do this,” she explained. “I would feel like my personality is too big and I’m not meant to do this all my life. There’s no way I’m meant to clock in, do the same thing everyday, clock out, go home and be exhausted to wake up and do it again. I was built for something more.”

Still, Melanie ties in her medical training with her designs in creating gorgeous diabetic bracelets. “I knew there was a need for that. I have the fashion side and the medical side too,” she said.

The veteran entrepreneur, soon-to-be mommypreneur, continues to challenge herself daily, whether it is through satisfying a customer request, designing a new bag or necklace, or narrowing down the right manufacturer for an upcoming shoe line – Melanie’s grind is an every minute on the minute kind of hustle.

Check out Melanie’s advice on discounts when first growing your business and much more in the following pages.

About Alley Olivier (84 Articles)
Alley Olivier is a Brooklyn woman wearing many literal and figurative hats – snapback, bucket, and fedora if she feels like it. The short-haired founder and CEO of ButtahMedia, Alley operates as the Managing Editor for BrooklynButtah.com; churning out insightful interviews, balancing her opinions on all things pop culture, and ensuring entrepreneurs find useful information that is without the scientific jargon. When she isn’t consumed by everything Buttah, find her pen flexing on Ebony.com, xoNecole.com, and Caribbean Life Newspaper. Follow her everywhere @All3Y_B.

Leave a Reply

